material raum form – about

Planning + Development

Whether you are a client for whom a house is built, an architect, or an interior designer – we will be happy to realize the ideas you present to us.

Planning

In our studio, we plan and develop interiors. We coordinate the realization of projects according to the wishes of our customers. Of course, our customers can also always turn to our office for ideas, suggestions, and stimuli.

We will stand at your side, ready to give you support and advice. The materials and techniques that we use offer exciting creative possibilities. They require an openness to diversity and novelty as much as they inspire innovation and new ideas. Thus, we can contribute essentially to the realization of innovative plans.

For many years we have worked closely with teams of architects, and thus further deepened our knowledge in the areas of artwork and planning. Our practical knowledge and our skills have become manifest in many projects that were sucessfully realized.

Development

We do not only work with materials, we also develop them: at material raum form, we create innovative, novel products. Minerally bound materials have evolved over thousands of years. Within that history of craftsmanship, we are standing on the shoulders of giants. The craft continues to be further developed, based on empirical techniques. We view ourselves as part of that tradition, and thus will keep on experimenting with the materials we use in order to find new properties and potential uses.

Modern technologies open up new possibilities of creatively working with these seemingly well-known materials. We rediscover them for new contexts, forms, and uses.

Prototypes

We also develop and manufacture prototypes and one-offs for purposes of demonstration. In that area, we do not only experiment with our new materials. We also build dummies in order to demonstrate new uses of materials as well as the development of new products.

Moulds and Tools

We develop and construct the moulds used for casting elements of different shapes and sizes. We also develop and make the special tools (for example, milling machines) needed for expertly finishing our products. Depending on the quantity of any line, we build moulds for short-term or long-term time frames.

We have already successfully put into practice our know-how regarding the properties of minerally bound materials. We will continue to expand our knowledge, and to use it in the sophisticated construction of our moulds and tools.

At material raum form, we are not just expert craftsmen. When planning and realizing your projects, we also employ our know-how of industrial design, and we closely co-operate with model builders and toolmakers.

Materials

Our ideas are inspired by the materials we use. If all the different materials and their almost boundless variability did not exist, they would not cast their spell over us – and you would not read about us here.

A Symphony of Materials

There are many craftspeople who basically work with one material only, even though they always will cultivate contacts with colleagues from other workshops. Each material has its very own sensitivity, smell, sound, and surface structure. All these qualities fill us with the desire to touch our materials again and again.

Over time, our love to the materials we use became a calling – we wanted to be always close to them. We share the affection that carpenters, precision engineers, and stonemasons feel for the materials they work with. With closed eyes, we sense the atmosphere in their studios, metal-processing workshops, and building workers’ huts. No one lives in a world where any of these materials is missing. We need all of them around us in order to feel happy.

We are not indifferent about the materials we use for our objects. A mere look at their outward appearance does not satisfy us. We put them under the microscope, and go at them with very sharp tools. As soon as we see how a material can be worked both manually and with the help of machines, we reach a synthesis, and the creative process begins.

In order to creatively rearrange your working or living environment, you have to be thoroughly familiar with it. This is where material raum form offers you help and advice – and we also invite you to share our enthusiasm.

Awards

In the last couple of years, material raum form has been awarded several design prizes for the development of PEARLNERA®, a minerally bound material containing delicate glass globules which become visible on the surface thanks to a special polishing process. PEARLNERA® is manufactured into moulded elements and slabs. PEARLNERA® is very versatile in terms of colouring, and its manufacturing process is emission-free.

material award Logo

Such as the iF material award for the white Manu sink.


 

Nomination for the Designpreis der Bundesrepublik Deutschland for the wall-light system Pearlnera® Shine. Nominated by the federal ministry for econonomy and technology in Berlin.

Bronze in the category product of the DDC competition GOOD DESIGN for the material Pearlnera®.

Nomination for the design award of the Federal Republic of Germany for the washbasin made of Pearlnera® ferro.

Awarded the MATERIALICA design award for the white washbasin Manu.


We are looking forward to hearing from you

13 + 3 =

Contact 

Office

Wielandstr. 3
D-22089 Hamburg
Germany

Phone: +49 (0) - 40 48 57 02
Mobile: +49 (0) - 175 52 32 209

info@material-raum-form.com

Planning

Jacobsenweg 13
D-22525 Hamburg
Germany

Follow us on:

material raum form – Über Uns

Planung und Entwicklung

Gerne setzen wir die Ideen, die Sie als Bauherren, Architekten oder Innenarchitekten an uns herantragen, in die Tat um. In unserem Studio planen und entwerfen wir Interieurs und koordinieren die Durchführung von Projekten entsprechend den Wünschen unserer Kunden.

Planung

Wir helfen Ihnen bei der Realisierung Ihrer Vorstellungen, aber selbstverständlich stehen wir Ihnen auch sehr gerne beratend zur Seite, wenn Sie sich von uns mit Ideen, Vorschlägen und Anregungen inspirieren lassen möchten.

Die von uns eingesetzten Werkstoffe und Techniken bieten ein ganzes Spektrum an kreativen Möglichkeiten und laden immer wieder zu innovativer Gestaltung ein. Ob Wände aus farbigem Stucco Lustro, ein Fußboden aus klassischem Terrazzo oder eigens für Sie angefertigte Einrichtungsobjekte aus unserem neuartigen Material Pearlnera® – unsere Produkte verleihen Ihren Räumlichkeiten einen individuellen, ästhetischen Charakter und eine ganz besondere Atmosphäre.

Seit vielen Jahren arbeiten wir mit Architektenteams zusammen und konnten dadurch unsere künstlerischen und planerischen Fertigkeiten noch weiter vertiefen. Zahlreiche erfolgreich in die Praxis umgesetzte Projekte sind der beste Beweis für unsere Erfahrung und unser Können, wenn es um exquisites Innendesign geht.

Entwicklung

Wir arbeiten nicht nur mit Materialien, wir entwickeln sie. Mineralisch gebundene Werkstoffe wie Terrazzo, Sichtbeton und Stucco Lustro blicken auf eine Jahrtausende alte Geschichte zurück. In dieser uralten Tradition stehen wir auf den Schultern von Riesen. Über unzählige Generationen wurde unser Handwerk ständig empirisch weiterentwickelt, und auch wir untersuchen die von uns verarbeiteten Werkstoffe immer weiter auf neue Materialeigenschaften und Anwendungsmöglichkeiten.

Auch mit Hilfe moderner Technologien entdecken wir unsere Werkstoffe immer wieder neu für innovative Kontexte, Formgebungen und Verwendungszwecke.

Herstellung von Prototypen

Zu unseren Entwicklungsfeldern gehört auch die Herstellung von Prototypen und One-Offs für Demonstrationszwecke. Wir experimentieren nicht nur mit unseren neuen Werkstoffen, sondern bauen zur Veranschaulichung neuer Anwendungen und Produktentwicklungen auch Dummies.

Formenbau

Wir entwickeln und bauen sowohl die Gussformen, in denen unsere Objekte entstehen, als auch die Werkzeuge (beispielsweise Schleifgeräte), mit denen wir nach dem Aushärten die Oberflächen unserer Produkte fertig bearbeiten. Je nach der Quantität der von uns hergestellten Serien stellen wir dabei Gussformen für kurze oder lange Standzeiten her.

Wir vertiefen unser Know-How über mineralisch gebundene Werkstoffe ständig weiter und setzen es bei der Fertigung der Formteile um. Dabei verfügen wir nicht nur über große Erfahrung im Formenbau, wir bringen auch unsere Expertise in Industriedesign mit und arbeiten eng mit Modellbauern und Werkzeugbauern zusammen.

Material + Werkstoffe

Unsere Ideen sind von den Materialien inspiriert, die wir verwenden. Die verschiedenen Werkstoffe und ihre nahezu unbegrenzten Variationsmöglichkeiten ziehen uns immer wieder in ihren Bann und regen unsere Phantasie an. Unsere Begeisterung für die Stoffe, mit denen wir arbeiten, möchten wir gerne mit Ihnen teilen.

Die Sinnlichkeit des Materials

Geruch, Klang und Beschaffenheit von Werkstoffen wohnt eine ganz besondere Sinnlichkeit inne, die in uns den Wunsch weckt, ein Material immer wieder zu berühren und mit ihm kreativ zu arbeiten. Im Falle von material raum form sind diese Werkstoffe Sichtbeton, Terrazzo und Pearlnera®. Wenn wir uns von ihnen begeistern und zum Entwerfen innovativer, formschöner Objekte für alle Wohnbereiche inspirieren lassen, können wir die Leidenschaft nachempfinden, mit der Tischler, Feinmechaniker oder Steinmetze ihrer Berufung nachgehen. Wenn wir die Augen schließen, spüren wir förmlich die Atmosphäre von nie versiegender Schaffensfreude in ihren Ateliers, Metallwerkstätten und Bauhütten, denn es ist die gleiche Atmosphäre wie bei material raum form.

Wir geben uns nicht zufrieden mit dem, was wir bereits über unsere Werkstoffe wissen, sondern erforschen sie weiter und entlocken ihnen immer wieder neue Facetten. Gibt ein Material sein Potenzial preis, dann beginnt – von Hand und mit Hilfe moderner Technologien – der kreative Prozess und dessen Umsetzung für anspruchsvolles, einzigartiges Innendesign.

Auszeichnungen

Für die Entwicklung des Werkstoffes PEARLNERA® wurde material raum form in den letzten Jahren mit verschiedenen Designerpreisen ausgezeichnet. Bei PEARLNERA® handelt es sich um mineralisch gebundene Objekte und oder Platten mit eingebetteten Glaskugeln, die durch Schliff zum Vorschein gebracht werden.

material award Logo

Wie z.B. die Auszeichnung des iF material award für das Waschbecken Manu weiß

 

Nominierung zum Designpreis der Bundesrepublik Deutschland für das Pearlnera® Shine System. Nominiert durch das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie, Berlin.

Bronze in der Kategorie Produkt des DDC – Wettbewerbs GUTE GESTALTUNG für das Material Pearlnera®.

Nominierung zum Designpreis der Bundesrepublik Deutschland für den Waschtrog aus Pearlnera® ferro.

Auszeichnung mit dem MATERIALICA Design Award für das Waschbecken Manu weiß

Wir freuen uns auf den Kontakt mit Ihnen

Neues Feld

12 + 4 =

Anschrift in Hamburg

Büro 

Wielandstraße 3
D-22089 Hamburg Deutschland

Telefon: +49 (0) - 40 48 57 02
Mobil: +49 (0) - 175 52 32 209

info@material-raum-form.com

Fertigung 

Jacobsenweg 13
D-22525 Hamburg Deutschland

Folgen Sie uns auf: